Secondary Curriculum

The secondary school is divided into two stages… grades 7-8 (the Logic Stage) and grades 9-12 (the Rhetoric Stage).

In grades 7-8, the students take the mastered information from the Grammar Stage and bring it into ordered relationships. Students begin to apply logic, assessing the validity of arguments and learning to view information critically with more discerning minds.

In grades 9-12, students learn to articulate eloquently and persuasively, and to use the tools of knowledge and understanding acquired in the earlier stages. This is the point at which the strength of a classical education is made fully visible.

Click here for an overview of the Logos School secondary curriculum.

School Supply List

Secondary School Supply List (14-15)

Class Schedules

Fall Finals Schedule

Spring Class Schedule
Spring Elective Classes

Senior Course Options

By the time students reach their senior year in high school, they have usually developed interests in specific areas. Therefore, they will be given the opportunity to pursue those areas through the following senior course options. These options are designed to allow students the opportunity to learn one or two subjects well. As Dorothy Sayers says, “Whatever is mere apparatus may now be allowed to fall into the background, while the trained mind is gradually prepared for specialization in the “subjects” which, when the Trivium is completed, it should be perfectly well equipped to tackle on its own.” (from The Lost Tools of Learning) These options should aid the transition from the completion of the Trivium to the more specialized study that is a part of a college or university education.

This is a 1 credit option in which a student arranges for instruction in an area of academic interest. Students must work a minimum of five hours per week on their independent study. Examples of programs that have been successful in the past include college classes (traditional and online). Approved subjects include math, science, theology, humanities, and the fine arts. Areas of study which do not qualify would include music lessons, recreational classes and/or self-guided courses with little or no accountability.

The internship is a 1/2 credit option intended to provide seniors with the opportunity to study a career. Students must work a minimum of 2 hours per week on their internship. A wide variety of internships have been approved in the past (interning with an elementary or secondary Logos teacher, riding along with police officers, observing at a local vet clinic, etc.). Students are not allowed to be paid for the time they spend as an intern.

Procedures for Both Options
1. At least two weeks before the beginning of each semester, students must submit a written proposal to the principal, via email. Late proposals will not be considered. Proposals must describe the following:
a. the main purpose of and goals for the program
b. the work that the student will be doing weekly to achieve these goals
c. the number of hours per week that the student will be participating in the program d. which Logos staff member will be supervising the program (Mrs. Merkle oversees all internships. If you are auditing a Logos class or taking a college class, you do not need a supervisor. All other independent studies need to have a staff member who has agreed to supervise before the proposal is turned in)
e. a description of the final project that will be presented at the end of the semester
2. Proposals that do not address each area listed above will not be considered.
3. The proposal may be approved as written, approved with modifications, or denied. Students will receive written notification of the decision.
4. Students have two days to resubmit proposals which have been modified and/or denied.
5. By the second day of the semester, seniors must be enrolled in a total of six credits. If they are not, a course of study will be prescribed for them.

Guidelines for Both Options
1. Credit will not be granted for work completed before a proposal is approved.
2. Final Project: Students must submit a paper (6-8 pages for an independent study, 2-3 pages for an internship) which adequately summarizes the work that was completed over the semester. For independent study students enrolled in a class with a cumulative final exam, this exam can take the place of the paper.
3. Students will receive a grade of E, S, or U at the end of each quarter and semester.
4. Students are required to complete a weekly report and submit these reports to their supervising teacher. The student’s final grade will be based largely on the content of these reports and the paper.
5. Failure to make satisfactory progress in the first semester will disqualify the student from participating in the independent study and/or internship program during the second semester.
6. Students may only request approval for one semester at a time.

College Planning Handbook

This link contains detailed information on preparing for college.

Directory of US Colleges

This page provides a complete look at the state’s community colleges, public universities, private colleges, technical schools and distance learning options. College hopefuls can find potential schools using this tool, which allows quick and accurate searching by institution type, setting, size, city and cost.

Dialectic Speech Meet

The following is information for the Dialectic Speech Meet for the 7th-9th grade students. Most of the work and grading is done during English class (Mrs. Courtney for the 7th and 8th grade students and Mrs. Wilson for the 9th grade students). For the final meet on the students will perform their pieces with students from other classes in the same category. That afternoon during 7th period there will be an assembly to hear the top performances from each category.


  • Mid-September – Information goes home.
  • Beginning of October – Selections are due.
  • Mid-October – Piece is presented for a memory grade.
  • Beginning of November– Speech Meet

Dialectic Speech Meet Guidelines
Dialectic Speech Meet Judge’s Form
Dialectic Speech Meet Selection Ideas

Rhetoric Speech Meet

The following is information for the upcoming Rhetoric Speech Meet for the 10th-12th grade students. Please note a few differences between the Dialectic Speech Meet of the 7th-9th graders and the Rhetoric Speech Meet:

  • Poetry must be through the Poetry Out Loud program.
  • Readers Theater and the Original Oratory categories are allowed.
  • Children’s books and plays are allowed as sources for material.
  • There is no memory check. Pieces will be presented once in class for a grade, and once at the meet for a test grade.


  • Mid December – information goes home
  • Mid January – Selections are due
  • Toward the end of January – Piece is presented for a grade
  • Beginning of February – Speech Meet

Judging Form
Selection Ideas